Winter Track & Field Finishes their Season on a High Note!


Saturday, February 8, 2020 – CHSAA Intersectional Championships

Our final Meet of this Winter Season was held at the Ocean Breeze Athletic Center in Staten Island. A very capable group of Lady Mustangs arrived ready and eager to show the competitiveness that earned them this opportunity to go head-to-head against the best athletes in the CHSAA.

The Field Events got underway at 9:30am with the High Jump competition and OLMA’s Gianna Torgersen cleared 4’ 4”. Later in the day, Anne Sorrentino competed in the Triple Jump and had a leap of 27’ 4”.

Our first running event was the 4 x 200 Meter Relay and OLMA had a strong team entered that consisted of three Sophomores and one Freshman. Ashley Abraham ran a quick first leg, covering her 200 meters in 29.37and Marina Maricevic ran a strong second leg in 29.47. The third leg saw freshman Londyn Marszalek reel off another fine time with a 29.43, handing off to Colleen Coelho who ran a 30.01 anchor leg that brought the team home in 1:58.43, our fastest time this season.

In the 55 Meter Dash, Grace Mohlin led OLMA with another fine performance, running 8.05 which was just .02 seconds above her Personal Record (PR). She was followed by Gianna Torgersen in 8.58, a new PR and thenOlivia Brooks, also with a new PR in 8.71.

The 1000 Meter Run saw Erin Nicastro display her usual toughness, pushing throughout and crossing the line first for OLMA with a 3:21.82. Next came Kayla Hawkins who, despite not feeling her best, pushed herself to a3:36.15 finishing time. Kaitlin Sullivan followed, running steady and with focus and producing a new PR in3:37.74.
The 600 Meter Run had strong efforts that produced PRs by Ashley Abraham – 1:52.99, Ava Murphy – 1:53.52and Ciara Gilligan – 1:59.02. Also, in just her second 600, Colleen Coelho crossed the line in 1:57.37.

The 300 Meter Dash came next and it brought to mind the tremendous results achieved by our athletes when we competed in this event at Ocean Breeze earlier this season. The results today were even more exciting as Marina Maricevic, clearly concerned prior to the race, ran OLMA’s fastest 300 in the past few years as she finished in a 46.73 PR. It was Marina’s first official 300 this season and the 16th fastest time of the 161 athletes that competed. The excitement continued with Erin Nicastro – 47.96 PR, Kayla Hawkins – 48.75 PR, Londyn Marszalek – 48.76 PR, Ava Murphy – 49.89 PR, Iels Aan Jibu – 50.15, Ciara Gilligan – 51.96 PR and Kaitlin Sullivan – 52.55 PR. Tremendous efforts ladies!

The trials for the 55 Meter Hurdles saw Grace Mohlin and Olivia Brooks compete in the same heat with Grace running 10.07 and Olivia 11.38. That placed Grace as the 8th and last qualifier for the finals, setting up an exciting close to this year’s meet for OLMA. Grace was nervous as she waited for the final but her Mom did her best to keep her confident. The result was truly a Senior Spotlight as Grace took the 5th Place Medal and scored a point for OLMA by shattering the 10 second barrier that she has pursued all season with a 9.76, a new PR by .26 seconds. Way to go Grace!

Congratulations to everyone on today’s efforts and to the entire team for their contributions this Season. The collective talent of our team is undeniable and with continued hard work and dedication we are well positioned for success in the upcoming Spring Season. Believe in yourselves and your teammates!

Congratulations to the coaches Robert Schuler, Gerry O’Hagan, Katherine Hackett and the entire team.

1st Year
Emily Abraham, Ariana Bartnick, Alexandria Breitenbach,
Olivia Brooks, Elizabeth Burke, Colleen Coelho,
Lara Dunphy, Nina Gatti, Ciara Gilligan,
Kerry Harrington, Mary Kate Hart, Kayla Hawkins,
Laura Hiu, Kerry Kilduff, Ava Leone,
Marina Maricevic, Londyn Marszaleck, Caitlin McNulty,
Sarah Muniz, Alexandra Paul, Julia Petrozzo,
Katrina Zabransky

2nd Year
Ashley Abraham, Catherine Burke, Amanda DeMatos,
Kiera Feldman, Iels Aan Jibu, Chinwe Okonkwo,
Taylor Ruiz, Shea Salamack, Kaitlin Sullivan,
Anna Tast, Gianna Torgersen, Jillian Tremblay

3rd Year
Maria Cipriano, Jessica Corrigan, Lindsey Fiori
Jessica Friedrich, Stephanie Garcia, Catherine Hagemann,
Bridget Harrington, Hayle Jean Baptiste, Eve Kennedy,
Erin Nicastro, Mary Katherine Serpe, Rebecca Van Houten
4th Year
Elizabeth Cirelli, Hannah Collett, Nora Diede,
Mia Flynn, Alexis Gendler, Grace Mohlin,
Ava Murphy, Anne Sorrentino
Managers: Katrina Gutierrez – 1, Jessica Mastorakis – 1